## Hancock Public Schools Foundation, Inc.

# July 22, 2015 Minutes

## **Board of Directors Annual Meeting**

The annual meeting of the Hancock Public Schools Foundation (HPSF) was called to order by David Dow at 6:06 pm.

In attendance: Neil Ahola, Don Carli, David Dow, Mike Hauswirth, Monica Healy, Karen Hubbard, Jeff Kangas, Robbyn Lucier, Sara Niemeyer, Paula Nutini, Dennis Walikainen

The election of the president was presided over by Sara Niemeyer of the Nominating Committee.

A motion for David Dow to serve as President for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Carli, Kangas).

A motion for Neil Ahola to serve as Vice President for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Dow, Niemeyer).

A motion for Mike Hauswirth to serve as Treasurer for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Dow, Ahola).

A motion for Sara Niemeyer to serve as Secretary for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Dow, Lucier).

A motion was unanimously approved to accept the nominations of Neil Ahola, David Dow, Michael Hauswirth, Ruth Ann Smith and Tracie Williams to serve as the Endowment/ Finance Board of Trustees (Dow, Carli).

A motion to approve Superior National Bank and Trust Company (Hancock, Michigan) as depository for all 2015-16 HPSF funds and to authorize the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Superintendent to sign checks on behalf of the Foundation and that the Superintendent's Administrative Assistant (currently Jill Karkkainen) is authorized to discuss HPSF accounts with the depository was unanimously approved (Dow, Lucier).

A motion to appoint the firm of Rukkila, Negro & Associates, CPA, PC, as HPSF auditor was 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Walikainen, Ahola).

A motion to appoint attorneys on an as needed basis for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Hauswirth, Kangas).

A motion to appoint the firm of Edward Jones and its representative Steve Zutter and UBS Financial Services and its representative Dan Webb as HPSF financial advisors for 2015-16 was unanimously approved (Lucier, Kangas).

#### 2015-2016 Committee assignments

#### **Endowment/Finance**

Michael Hauswirth – Chair Neil Ahola David Dow Karen Hubbard Jeff Kangas Ruth Ann Smith Tracie Williams

#### Fundraising

Sara Niemeyer – Chair Paula Nutini Grants Don Carli – Chair Karen Hubbard Jeff Kangas Robbyn Lucier

**Marketing** Dennis Walikainen – Chair

Nominating John Vaara – Chair Sara Niemeyer

### Scholarship

David Dow – Chair Tracie Williams

A motion to hold the quarterly meetings of the HPSF Board of Directors on the fourth Wednesday at 6:00, in the HCH Board Room were unanimously approved (Walikainen, Hubbard).

### 2015-16 Meeting Dates:

October 28, 2015 January 27, 2016 April 27, 2016 July 27, 2016

The Finance Committee decided to meet via email in the future unless a face-to-face meeting is necessary.

Grants Committee meets at 5:30 pm

Full Board meets at 6:00 pm

A motion to adjourn at 6:14 p.m. was unanimously approved (Ahola, Walikainen).